The strengh of this part of Australia is its people. From the small communities to the towns and major urban centres, I'm inspired by the spirit of those who choose to live here. There is always a great sense of residents coming together to help other residents. Community involvement is high right across the region.

Every part of this electorate, without exception, can boast people who roll up their sleeves and get involved, who work hard and give of their time and energy to improve their community.

- Catherine


STATE: Victoria

NAME DERIVATION: Named after the city of Ballarat. The name is apparently derived from the Aboriginal word balaarat meaning a resting or camping place.

AREA AND LOCATION DESCRIPTION: Ballarat covers an area of approximately 4 652 sq km from Ballarat in the west to Bacchus Marsh in the east. The division's main centres is Ballarat, the State's largest inland city. It also includes the towns of Ballan, Blackwood, Burrumbeet (part), Buninyong, Clunes, Creswick, Daylesford, Myrniong and Trentham. Ballarat shares boundaries with the divisions of Bendigo in the north, Lalor and McEwen in the east, Corangamite and Corio in the south and Wannon in the west.